Change font size
It is currently Sat Nov 25, 2017 12:32 pm



Post a new topicPost a reply Page 5 of 5   [ 72 posts ]
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: RPG Rules Questions and Answers
PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2010 4:54 pm 
A17: No, not unless he invests heavily into the Use Magic Device skill, which is cross-class for Rangers (though that matters less in your Pathfinder game). Otherwise, he can only use scrolls/wands that cast spells on the Ranger spell list.

If you were to splash a level in Wizard or Sorceror, you'd be able to use arcane wands, but that may or may not fit your character concept. Failing that, Wondrous Items that cast spells can be used by anyone, unless the creator wanted them limited in use.


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RPG Rules Questions and Answers
PostPosted: Sat Nov 09, 2013 4:25 am 
Daremonai wrote:
Q 16: There's a card in the D&D Deck of Many Things that takes 10,000XP from you (The Fool).

Now, admittedly the DoTM is an artifact and should only appear in high-level play, BUT - what do you think should happen if a level 2 character were to draw that card? Would they die? Would they lose all their XP, delevelling to 1st with 0XP and ignore the rest of the penalty?

How would you handle it?


I would ask why the group has got a deck of many things at lvl 2.... don't run d&d or lvl based systems but seems a bad idea.


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RPG Rules Questions and Answers
PostPosted: Sat Nov 09, 2013 3:28 pm 
Noise Maker
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 12:52 pm
Posts: 1616
Location: 52°15'24.99"N 1°09'48.62"W, Sol III
Real Name: Set to Private
It's a long long time since Daremonai wrote his question... but I think his question was aimed at working out what happens when you lose more XP than you have, rather than specifically asking about the artefact. The DoMT is just an example of a way you might directly lose XP.

Your question has made me think about this again, though - and now I think I'd prefer to re-write the Deck of Many Things.
The d20 system got rid of all the other instances of XP loss, and replaced them with energy drain. The rules for energy drain in d20 systems are far simpler than trying to figure out what happens when you lose XP that you've already used to gain a level and all the extra powers that go with it.
The Deck of Many Things seems to me to be a throwback to the more complex rules before the creators of the game came up with the energy drain rule.
So I think that instead of making the target victim lose 10 000 XP, the Fool card should energy drain the victim of two levels.

_________________
Running the Game - the loneliness of the long distance blogger
Tengwio, hinoin! U eo swaillir, aneo?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RPG Rules Questions and Answers
PostPosted: Tue Nov 12, 2013 4:46 pm 
It seemed like a topic worth rebooting, might learnt a trick or two myself.

Q18: What rules do you think work for 'setting a spear or a pike stance'?

Mostly to do with warhammer fantasy but other how other systems work might help.


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RPG Rules Questions and Answers
PostPosted: Tue Nov 12, 2013 5:02 pm 
Donor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 8:51 pm
Posts: 4964
Location: Daventry
Real Name: Jack Penn
In IKRPG you get +2 defence for setting a polearm against a charge.

Simple but effective imo


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2

_________________
Bolt Action: Brits in Burma, German Fallschirmjager & Royal Marines commandos
Frostgrave: The Great Fantastico and his adventuring companye
Warhammer Fantasy: Vampire Counts
Black Powder: AWI Redcoats
Guildball: Fishermen
Saga: Vikings


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RPG Rules Questions and Answers
PostPosted: Tue Nov 12, 2013 6:04 pm 
I can see a boost to defence but mean if someone does try a charge?

Bonus damage, easier to hit, does the attack stop moving, does the attack lose the rest of there turn, that sort of stuff.


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RPG Rules Questions and Answers
PostPosted: Tue Nov 12, 2013 7:28 pm 
Donor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 8:51 pm
Posts: 4964
Location: Daventry
Real Name: Jack Penn
+2 defence

It's harder to hit someone when they are 4ft away from a spiky stick


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2

_________________
Bolt Action: Brits in Burma, German Fallschirmjager & Royal Marines commandos
Frostgrave: The Great Fantastico and his adventuring companye
Warhammer Fantasy: Vampire Counts
Black Powder: AWI Redcoats
Guildball: Fishermen
Saga: Vikings


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RPG Rules Questions and Answers
PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2013 1:02 pm 
Noise Maker
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 12:52 pm
Posts: 1616
Location: 52°15'24.99"N 1°09'48.62"W, Sol III
Real Name: Set to Private
In D&D, Pathfinder and all the other d20 system games, you get to attack the charging opponent before they attack you, and if you hit, you deal double damage.

_________________
Running the Game - the loneliness of the long distance blogger
Tengwio, hinoin! U eo swaillir, aneo?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RPG Rules Questions and Answers
PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2013 4:25 pm 
Q19: Does taking damage, being tripped or otherwise bothered by an attack of opportunity stop your turn?

Including if you were charger, trying to recover a potion or just moving past...


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RPG Rules Questions and Answers
PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2013 4:53 pm 
Donor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 8:51 pm
Posts: 4964
Location: Daventry
Real Name: Jack Penn
No it doesn't, you carry on as normal.

Unless it knows you over/ unconscious


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk 2

_________________
Bolt Action: Brits in Burma, German Fallschirmjager & Royal Marines commandos
Frostgrave: The Great Fantastico and his adventuring companye
Warhammer Fantasy: Vampire Counts
Black Powder: AWI Redcoats
Guildball: Fishermen
Saga: Vikings


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RPG Rules Questions and Answers
PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2013 6:52 pm 
Its a bit of a grey area to me when I look at different situations.

e.g. moving through a threatened square and getting hit by a mace but not killed.

Or if a large creature, lets say giant walks by you. Sure you can hit and damage it but its not going to be stopped by a medium creature.

But you should be in some instances you should be stopped

e.g. Charging onto a set spear, like a long spear and getting hit for extra damage and ending your go on the other end of the spear at weapons length from your opponent.

Or standing up and getting tripped over again.


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RPG Rules Questions and Answers
PostPosted: Wed Nov 13, 2013 7:51 pm 
Given that there's a feat in D&D 3.5 from before Pathfinder (I think it's called Stand Still) that explicitly stops your opponent on an AoO, I would say that the original intention is that it does not stop you - with the exception that an AoO trip attack renders you prone and requires you to use a move action (and provoke again) to stand up, unless you choose to continue crawling.


Top
  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 5 of 5   [ 72 posts ]
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
610nm Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net