Change font size
It is currently Wed Nov 22, 2017 3:40 pm



Post a new topicPost a reply Page 4 of 5   [ 72 posts ]
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: RPG Rules Questions and Answers
PostPosted: Sun Feb 22, 2009 2:42 am 
A8: i have no idea i failed GCSE maths :oops:


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: d20 Modern / Fusion - THURSDAY discussion
PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2009 2:59 pm 
Motor Mouth

Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 9:44 am
Posts: 3871
Location: Kenilworth
Real Name: Beardy Pete
Q9: Here's a quick rules question for Alastair, the answer to which should be useful for all, hence the post and not a PM.

While the feats from D20 and MCWoD tend to overlap quite a bit, there are some feats that each system has that the other doesn't. Are all feats available to all characters, or can they take a feat from one system only when taking a level from the same system?

For example, if at sixth level, Rupert takes a level in a D20 class, could he take the Skill Focus (or Skilled) feat from MCWoD since no such feat exists in D20?

_________________
This signature intentionally left blank.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: d20 Modern / Fusion - THURSDAY discussion
PostPosted: Mon Sep 21, 2009 3:52 pm 
Noise Maker
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 12:52 pm
Posts: 1616
Location: 52°15'24.99"N 1°09'48.62"W, Sol III
Real Name: Set to Private
A9:
bigmaddrongo wrote:
While the feats from D20 and MCWoD tend to overlap quite a bit, there are some feats that each system has that the other doesn't. Are all feats available to all characters, or can they take a feat from one system only when taking a level from the same system?

For example, if at sixth level, Rupert takes a level in a D20 class, could he take the Skill Focus (or Skilled) feat from MCWoD since no such feat exists in D20?

All D&D and d20 Modern Feats are applicable to all characters, subject to each Feat's prerequisites. Where d20 Modern duplicates a D&D feat, the d20 Modern takes precedence. Some D&D feats make no sense in the d20 Fusion setting (for example, Metamagic feats are surplanted by the d20 Fusion magic system).
Only the Feats that are required to use MCWoD character type features (if there are any) are permitted from MCWoD.

_________________
Running the Game - the loneliness of the long distance blogger
Tengwio, hinoin! U eo swaillir, aneo?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RPG Rules Questions and Answers
PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 10:39 am 
Motor Mouth

Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 9:44 am
Posts: 3871
Location: Kenilworth
Real Name: Beardy Pete
Q10: Re clarification of the house ruling on restoration of component points under the MCWoD magic system.

At the end of the last session of D20 it was determined that the system of regaining component points by using magic was a bit abusable and accordingly a cap was set on how much you can regain in this way. It was decided that you can regain no more than your initial daily allowance of points, I was wondering if this was the maximum you could regain, or the maximum you could profit.

For example, if I spend 9 points to roll 4d6 of components and roll 6,4,4,1 for a total of 15, does that count as 15 or six against my limit?

_________________
This signature intentionally left blank.


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RPG Rules Questions and Answers
PostPosted: Thu Oct 01, 2009 12:56 pm 
Noise Maker
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 12:52 pm
Posts: 1616
Location: 52°15'24.99"N 1°09'48.62"W, Sol III
Real Name: Set to Private
A10
It would count as 15.
You spend CP to get more CP back, but you don't deduct the spending from the gross gain.

Of course, this is a made up system, rather than any official rule, so it's open to discussion.

_________________
Running the Game - the loneliness of the long distance blogger
Tengwio, hinoin! U eo swaillir, aneo?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RPG Rules Questions and Answers
PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 5:58 pm 
Q11 : Is it possibly to perform a Sneak Attack with a targeted magical spell? The SRD only says that a ranged attack must be within 30ft to qualify as a Sneak Attack.


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RPG Rules Questions and Answers
PostPosted: Mon Nov 02, 2009 10:54 pm 
A11: So long as by "targeted" you mean "has an attack roll", then yes. You can take weapon-based feats for rays, and you can sneak attack with them too, subject to range restrictions.


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RPG Rules Questions and Answers
PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2009 10:18 pm 
Donor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 8:51 pm
Posts: 4964
Location: Daventry
Real Name: Jack Penn
Q12- Can someone with the correct Weapon Proficiencies and Feats Dual Wield a with two bastard words or Dwarven Waraxes?

_________________
Bolt Action: Brits in Burma, German Fallschirmjager & Royal Marines commandos
Frostgrave: The Great Fantastico and his adventuring companye
Warhammer Fantasy: Vampire Counts
Black Powder: AWI Redcoats
Guildball: Fishermen
Saga: Vikings


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RPG Rules Questions and Answers
PostPosted: Sun Nov 08, 2009 11:14 pm 
Noise Maker
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 12:52 pm
Posts: 1616
Location: 52°15'24.99"N 1°09'48.62"W, Sol III
Real Name: Set to Private
A15* Short answer: Yes.

In the d20 and D&D3.5 rules, you can always use two weapons at once. There are big penalties for doing so. The feat "Two Weapon Fighting" reduces these penalties.

Here's what the rules say:
SRD wrote:
If you wield a second weapon in your off hand, you can get one extra attack per round with that weapon. You suffer a –6 penalty with your regular attack or attacks with your primary hand and a –10 penalty to the attack with your off hand when you fight this way. You can reduce these penalties in two ways:
  • If your off-hand weapon is light, the penalties are reduced by 2 each. (An unarmed strike is always considered light.)
  • The Two-Weapon Fighting feat lessens the primary hand penalty by 2, and the off-hand penalty by 6.

Table: Two-Weapon Fighting Penalties
.................................1st hand...Off hand
Normal penalties..................–6.....–10
Off-hand weapon is light.........–4......–8
Two-Weapon Fighting feat......–4......–4
Off-hand weapon is light and
Two-Weapon Fighting feat......–2......–2


You can do this with the exotic weapons you mentioned - but you'll need to spend a feat to get the exotic weapon proficiency, and the feat to get Two Weapon Fighting. As neither weapon is "light", you'll have a -4 penalty to hit when using both at once.

_________________
*Question numbering has gone out of synch due to an old question being re-addressed. Next question should be 16

_________________
Running the Game - the loneliness of the long distance blogger
Tengwio, hinoin! U eo swaillir, aneo?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RPG Rules Questions and Answers
PostPosted: Mon Nov 09, 2009 12:51 am 
A 15: Note that if you're a dwarf, the waraxe counts as a Martial Weapon. This doesn't help to offset the penalties though.


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RPG Rules Questions and Answers
PostPosted: Thu Dec 03, 2009 2:06 pm 
Q 16: There's a card in the D&D Deck of Many Things that takes 10,000XP from you (The Fool).

Now, admittedly the DoTM is an artifact and should only appear in high-level play, BUT - what do you think should happen if a level 2 character were to draw that card? Would they die? Would they lose all their XP, delevelling to 1st with 0XP and ignore the rest of the penalty?

How would you handle it?


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RPG Rules Questions and Answers
PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2009 9:42 am 
Noise Maker
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 12:52 pm
Posts: 1616
Location: 52°15'24.99"N 1°09'48.62"W, Sol III
Real Name: Set to Private
Daremonai wrote:
Q 16: There's a card in the D&D Deck of Many Things that takes 10,000XP from you (The Fool).

Now, admittedly the DoTM is an artifact and should only appear in high-level play, BUT - what do you think should happen if a level 2 character were to draw that card? Would they die? Would they lose all their XP, delevelling to 1st with 0XP and ignore the rest of the penalty?

How would you handle it?

A16: I'd take all their currently held money, and then contrive to ensure that until they had earned more than the 10k gp, they gained no money.

I definitely not take XP, or kill the character. There's no link between GP and XP in the later editions.

_________________
Running the Game - the loneliness of the long distance blogger
Tengwio, hinoin! U eo swaillir, aneo?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RPG Rules Questions and Answers
PostPosted: Fri Dec 04, 2009 4:59 pm 
I agree - there is no link between GP and XP any more.

The Fool card takes 10,000XP away from you, and lets you keep all of your money. So, death? Level 1?


Top
  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RPG Rules Questions and Answers
PostPosted: Sat Dec 05, 2009 12:09 pm 
Noise Maker
User avatar

Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2008 12:52 pm
Posts: 1616
Location: 52°15'24.99"N 1°09'48.62"W, Sol III
Real Name: Set to Private
A16: Oops - sorry, I read that way too fast at lunch time at work.
I can't find a rule for XP loss.
If you're paying XP to make a magic item, you can't spend so much that you drop below your current level. Nothing else seems to take XP from you directly...
As an ad hoc rule, I'd treat the loss of XP due to a magical effect as if it were caused by an energy drain. So, if you have less XP than you've lost, you die.

_________________
Running the Game - the loneliness of the long distance blogger
Tengwio, hinoin! U eo swaillir, aneo?


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
 Post subject: Re: RPG Rules Questions and Answers
PostPosted: Tue Jun 15, 2010 3:06 pm 
Donor
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 04, 2008 8:51 pm
Posts: 4964
Location: Daventry
Real Name: Jack Penn
Q 17:Can a ranger use arcane wands?

_________________
Bolt Action: Brits in Burma, German Fallschirmjager & Royal Marines commandos
Frostgrave: The Great Fantastico and his adventuring companye
Warhammer Fantasy: Vampire Counts
Black Powder: AWI Redcoats
Guildball: Fishermen
Saga: Vikings


Top
 Profile  
Reply with quote  
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post a new topicPost a reply Page 4 of 5   [ 72 posts ]
Go to page Previous  1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron


Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
610nm Style by Daniel St. Jules of Gamexe.net